Fight or Flight

“Freeze! Hands above your heads!” The Senior Enforcer reaches us first with his gun aimed at my head. His three partners follow behind him with their guns raised as well.

        In a flash, I grab Camille and pull her tight against my side before unleashing the safe shield. As soon as her body is concealed, I turn up the heat to incinerating level. A full second has passed between grabbing Camille and projecting my shield so the Enforcers had no time to react. When they finally process what I did, they open fire on us. Their confusion at the sight of my shield’s potency is hilarious.

        Even though it’s clear that the bullets have no effect, they continue to shoot until their clips are empty. I retract my shield while they attempt to reload their weapons. Before I have a chance to disarm them, Camille becomes a blurred line of fury. Her attacks are too quick for me to follow but within two seconds, the group of Enforcers becomes a pile of unconscious bodies. She comes to a halt in front of me while her head continues to search the area.

        I follow her line of sight and see that she’s looking at a wheel barrel leaning against a nearby building. “Jump in,” she says while nodding toward it. Without hesitation I sprint over to it and hop inside. By the time I reach it, Camille is already there tightening her laces. “You better hang on pretty boy.” I grip the front of the barrel for dear life as Camille takes off. In a split second, my world goes from still to hazy. My stomach presses against my spine as she picks up speed. It is an intense rush to be moving at such a high speed—I can’t make out any particular object and the wind we’re stirring up is incredibly loud.

        “You alright back there?!”

        “Never better!” It’s a struggle to get the words out, but I manage.

        “We should probably get outta here since they know what we look like now!”

        “Agreed!”

        To my surprise, Camille picks up the pace even more. The rapid tapping of her feet on the pavement has become almost a constant humming noise. In this moment, I finally experience what it feels like to move at her top speed. Almost immediately I get lightheaded, so I tighten my grip and close my eyes. Within two minutes, we reach the rendezvous point. Camille uses her phone to contact the hovering Sky Blade. It takes more than a few moments for me to regain my balance—the head rush I’m feeling is pretty extreme.

        Camille pats my back while trying to stifle a giggle. “You okay sweetie?”

 

Ember Awakening4.jpgsmaller

Leave a comment